Paul Maheke

1985, France ; lives and works in London


Judging by the small puddles of water existing at the bottom of the aquaria and the damp marks coloring the edge of the curtains, it would seem that the Galerie Art & Essai has been flooded, and that the water has then receded, taking with it leftovers of hair and dust. With Paul Maheke, water, the primordial element which forms and surrounds us, has a powerful relation to the body. In his work, it is a feminist, political and poetic matter, a way of imagining identity and memory, like a fluid terrain, with many layers. In the filtered and slightly colored light which swathes Dans l’éther, là, ou l’eau (2018), the artist’s first solo show in an art center in France, household objects like aquaria and curtains co-exist with a cosmological dimension incarnated by the huge fresco depicting the planet Jupiter. At play in it is a kind of transparency, that of liquid and glass, but also a kind of invisibility. In the opaqueness, ghost stories and tales of occultism are possibly camouflaged. In an adjacent room, a magician’s hands filmed in the Dominican Republic make a series of gestures which make fire and cards appear and disappear.
The installation is inhabited, on an ad hoc basis, by bodies in motion which speak and sing. So the three female performers of I took everything and made it my own (the ghost is an appropriationist) intermingle stories of apparitions and oracular visions, weaving references taken from the literature of Edouard Glissant and Audre Lorde, and Michael Jackson’s dance moves. Later on, the artist, his sister Alix, and his brother Simon will explore the Kindoki, a system of magical thinking and practice hailing from the Lower Congo. In the context of brothers and sisters, A familiar familial place of confusion continues the investigation of the body, and the energies and memories which pass through it —its shadows.

En coproduction avec / co-produced by Galerie Art & Essai – Université Rennes 2

Avec le soutien de / with the support of Fluxus Art Projects 

Dans l’éther, là, ou l’eau,

Galerie Art & Essai - Université Rennes 2

with :

A fire circle for public hearing, 2018
Performance (46'), soundscape composed by Sophie Mallett (46'), fresco, metal railings, luminous globes, resin, synthetic hair, debris, fabric curtains dyed with tea and coffee, low sodium light gel, orange window filter, HD video on monitor

Mago Sessar, 2018
HD video (12'), vermillon red walls and carpet flooring

In the Watery Core of those Stories, 2017
Two fish tanks, resin, synthetic hair, coloured glass marbles, dried plants, printed paper

Courtesy of the artist

Paul Maheke

1985, France ; vit et travaille à Londres


À en juger les petites flaques d’eau qui subsistent au fond des aquariums et les traces humides qui colorent le bord des rideaux, il semblerait que la Galerie Art & Essai ait été inondée puis que l’eau s’en soit retirée, charriant avec elle des résidus de cheveux et de poussière. Chez Paul Maheke, l’eau, élément primordial qui nous constitue et nous entoure, entretient un fort rapport au corps. Elle est dans son travail une matière féministe, politique et poétique, une manière d’envisager l’identité et la mémoire comme un terrain fluide, porteur de nombreuses strates. Une lumière tamisée et légèrement colorée baigne Dans l’éther, là, ou l’eau (2018), première exposition personnelle de l’artiste dans un centre d’art en France. Les objets domestiques comme les aquariums et les rideaux y cohabitent avec une dimension cosmologique incarnée par la vaste fresque représentant la planète Jupiter. Il s’y joue quelque chose de l’ordre de la transparence, celle du liquide et du verre, mais également de l’invisible. Dans l’opacité se camouflent peut-être des histoires de fantôme ou d’occultisme. Dans une pièce adjacente, les mains d’un magicien filmées en République dominicaine opèrent une série de gestes qui font apparaître et disparaître du feu, des cartes.
Ponctuellement, l’installation est investie par des corps en mouvement qui prennent la parole, chantent. Ainsi les trois performeuses de I took everything and made it my own (the ghost is an appropriationist) entremêlent des récits d’apparition et de visions oraculaires, tissent des références empruntées à la littérature d’Édouard Glissant, d’Audre Lorde comme aux chorégraphies de Michael Jackson. Plus tard, ce seront l’artiste, sa sœur Alix et son frère Simon qui y exploreront le Kindoki, un système de pensée et pratique magiques originaires du Bas-Congo. A familiar familial place of confusion poursuivra dans le contexte de la fratrie l’investigation du corps, les énergies et mémoires qui le traversent, ses ombres.

Galerie Art & Essai - Université Rennes 2

Dans l’éther, là, ou l’eau,

avec :

A fire circle for public hearing, 2018

Performance (46min), paysage sonore composé par Sophie Mallett (46min), fresque, grilles métalliques, globes lumineux, résine, cheveux synthétiques, débris, rideaux teints par du thé et du café, gélatines, filtre de fenêtre orange, video HD sur moniteur

Mago Sessar, 2018

Vidéo HD (12 min), murs peints et moquette vermillons

In the Watery Core of those Stories, 2017

Deux aquariums, résine, cheveux synthétiques, billes en verre de couleur, plantes séchées, papier imprimé
Courtesy de l'artiste